Docking State Office Health Care Policy / Medical Policy Phone: (785) 296-3981
Bldg. Robert Day, Director Fax: (785) 296-4813
Room 651 South

Stacy Bush

Health Insurance Specialist

Centers for Medicaid and Medicare State Operations
Mail Stop S2-01-16

7500 Security Blvd.

Baltimore, MD 21244-1850

RE: Kansas Children’s Health Insurance Program under Title XXI of the
Social Security Act

Dear Ms. Bush:

Enclosed for your review and approval is proposed SPA #02-01 which changes premiums from
$10 to $30 per month per family where family income is between 151% and 175% of the federal
poverty limit. The state plan amendment also changes the rates from $15 to $45 per month per
family where family income is between 176% and 200% of the federal poverty limit.

We have included two versions of SPA #02-01. One version shows the changes to be made by
striking out language which is to be deleted and underlining language which is to be added. The
other version is the clean version which will be added to our State Plan manual and is the version
that we ask that you stamp with the approval date.

We appreciate your cooperation in working with us in amending the HealthWave State Plan to
best serve the needs of children in Kansas. If you or your staff have any questions regarding this
proposed SPA please contact Rita Haverkamp at (785) 296-5107.

Sincerely,

Janet Schalansky
Secretary

JS/RSH/rh

enclosure

cc: Bobbie Graff-Hendrixson
SRS File Copy



Model Application Template for the State Children’s Health Insurance Program

Section 8. Cost Sharing and Payment (Section 2103(e))

-~ Check here if the state elects to use funds provided under Title XXI only to

provide expanded eligibility under the state’s Medicaid plan, and continue on
to Section 9.

8.1. Is cost-sharing imposed on any of the children covered under the plan? (42cFr
457.505)

8.1.1. - YES
8.1.2.—~ NO, skip to question 8.8.

8.2.  Describe the amount of cost-sharing, any sliding scale based on income, the group
or groups of enrollees that may be subject to the charge and the service for which

the charge is imposed or time period for the charge, as appropriate.
(Section 2103(e)(1)(A)) (42CFR 457.505(a), 457.510(b) &(c), 457.515(a)&(c))

8.2.1. Premiums: $10 $30 per month per family where family income is
between 151% and 175% of FPL
$15 $45 per month per family where family income is between 176% and
200% of FPL

8.2.2. Deductibles: None

8.2.3. Coinsurance or copayments: None
8.2.4. Other: None

8.3.  Describe how the public is notified, including the public schedule, of this cost-
sharing (including the cumulative maximum) and changes to these amounts and
any differences based on income. (Section 2103(e)(1)(B)) (42CFR 457.505(h))

Information regarding premiums is provided with the application and upon
eligibility determination and redetermination if the family is in premium paying
status. The HealthWave website (www.kansashealthwave.org), brochure,
provider’s offices, billboards all have premium information.

8.4.  The state assures that it has made the following findings with respect to the cost
sharing in its plan: (Section 2103(e))

8.4.1. - Cost-sharing does not favor children from higher income families
over lower income families. (Section 2103(e)(1)(B)) (42CFR 457.530)

8.4.2. - No cost-sharing applies to well-baby and well-child care, including
age-appropriate immunizations. (Section 2103(e)(2)) (42CFR 457.520)

8.4.3 - No additional cost-sharing applies to the costs of emergency

medical services delivered outside the network. (Section 2103(e)(1)(A))
(42CFR 457.515(f))

Effective Date: January 1, 2003 38 Approval Date:


http://www.kansashealthwave.org/

