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Requirements for Third Party Liability -
Payment of Claims 

1) The requirement in 433.139(b)(3) (ii)(C) is met, as follows: 

I Medical providers usea third party resource (TPR)explanation code 

on the claim to communicate that the service involves insurance 
through the absent parent in a IV-D enforcement case, and that 30 
days havelapsed since the date of service, and that the provider
has not received payment from the thirdparty resource. The MMIS

I 	 system will edit for the 30 day requirement. If less than30 days
have lapsed, the claim will be rejected. 

On a quarterly basis, the MMIS system produces a listing of all 

claims processed for recipients with third party resource coverage

This report includes all claims with a explanation code. this 

report is used by the Utilization Review groupto identify any

fraudulent or erroneous billings through verification with
the third 

party carriers. 
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2) The requirementin 433.139(f) (2 )  is met, asfollows: 

Threshold amounts. With the implementationof the Post Payment

Recovery System the threshold amount for the post payment recovery

of claims are: 


A) For claims involving Medicare, zero. 


B) For claims involving private health insurance, zero. 


C) For drug claims,$25. 


D) For ICF/MR and IMD, zero. 


E) For claims paid under the provisions of
433.139 (b)(31, zero. 
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3) The requirement in433.139(f) (3)is met, as follows: 

A)  	Oregon accumulates drug claims $25 before billing. If the 
accumulated total is less than$25 for the 60 period prior to 
the billing generation, the claims will be adde to the next 
billing cycle (every60 days for drug claims). For all other 
claim types, Oregon does not accumulate billings by dollar amount 
or period of time and the weekly Post Payment Recovery System

"IS
billing cycle is run immediately following the weeklyclaims 
cycle. All recoveries are sought within the time limits 
specified in433.139 (d). 
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S t a t e  of Oregon 

THIRD PARTY LIABILITY: 

I n  accord with Section 

Payment 
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o f  HealthInsurance Premiums 

1903(a)(1) o f  t h e  Act, Oregon will on a case-by-case 
basis pay health insurance premiums to  es tab l i sh  o r  ma in ta in  coverage fo r  
MedicalAssistancerecipients when it i s  determined t o  be cost benef ic ia l .  
Examples are : 

1. 	 When therec ip ien t  was recentlyseparatedfrom employment due t o  
a layof f ,  medica l  condi t ion or  pregnancy, and reta ins the opt ion 
to  cont inue w i th  the  ex is t ing  hea l th  coverage throughtheformer 
employer. 

2. 	 when t h e  r e c i p i e n t  i s  a dependent o f  an employed parentorother  
l iab le  par ty ,  w i th  op t ion  t o  purchase suchcoverage. 
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OMB NO.:0938-0193 


Third party Liability: Payment of Group Health Plan Premiums 


In accord with Section 4402
1906 of the Act, implementing Section 

of OBRA of 1990, Oregon requires mandatory enrollment of Medicaid 

recipients in cost effective group health plans as
a condition of 

Medicaid eligibility, except for an individual who is unable to 

enroll on his/her own behalf. oregon pays the group health 

insurance premium for Medicaid individuals if cost effective. 

Oregon may also pay
the premium for non-medicaid individuals if 

cost effective and if it is necessary in order to enroll the 

Medicaid recipient in the group health plan. Oregon pays, subject

to state payment rates, deductibles, coinsurance and other cost 

sharing obligationsunder the group health plan for Medicaid 

recipients enrolled in the group health plan for items and 

services covered under the State Plan. Oregon pays for items and 

services provided to Medicaid recipients under the State
t h a tPlan 
are not covered the group health plan. The group health plan
will be treated a third party resource as described in the 
State Plan for42 CFR 433.138 and 433.139. 


The following guidelines are used to determine cost effectiveness. 


1. Determine if the group health plan is
a basic/major medical 

policy ora health maintenance organization(HMO). 


2. 	 Determine the premium amountto be paid, converting any

premiums thatare not monthly, to
a monthly amount. 


3. Determine the numberof Medicaid individualsto be covered. 


4. Determine the average premium cost per Medicaid individual. 


5. 	 Determine the average monthly Medicaid cost savings for 

Medicaid persons who will be covered by the basic/major

medical coverage or
HMO coverage using the Medicaid Savings
Chart. 

The Medicaid Savings Chart is updated yearly.
It is based on 

the "IS WMMS757R-A report, which is
an analysis of the costs 

for Medicaid recipients with third party resources versus 

those Medicaid recipients without third party resources. The 

Medicaid Savings Chart is divided into categories of 

assistance, as follows: 


a. Old Age Assistance 

b. Aid to Dependent Children 

c. Aid to theBlind 

d. Aid tothe Disabled 

e. Foster Care 


6. 	 The Medicaid agency will pay the premium amount if the premium

cost per Medicaid lndividual is equal to or less than the 

corresponding amount shown on the Medicaid Savings Chart. 


Theeffectiveness of payment
cost the ium reevaluated 

at each redetermination. 



